| Seasons | 1979 | Teams
1979 Season: | Summary | Roster | Highlights | League | All-Stars |

Midwest League 1979

League and Team Leadership

League Officers

  • President/Treasurer: William K. Walters
  • Vice President: Jim Doster
  • Secretary: Doris Krucker
  • Director of Information: Merle Miller


 #   Name                Hometown
     Paul Bonnichsen     Lee's Summit, Missouri
     Randy Bruns         Waverly, Iowa
     Gary Cederstrom     
     Rick Emmersen       Haverhill, Massachusetts
     Phil Jannsen        Little Chute, Wisconsin
     James Johnston      Mitchell, South Dakota
     James Joyce         Toledo, Ohio
     Terry Mann          Chester, Pennsylvania
     Julius Meriwether   Nashville, Tennessee
     Gerry Serrone       Kansas City, Missouri

Major Change

1979 Season
MWL Fan's Guide

Team Leadership

                 President               GM
Appleton         Bill Sands              Jim Choudoir
Burlington       Ed Larson               Merle Miller
Cedar Rapids     Harold "Pinky" Primrose Don Buchheister
Clinton          Wayne Jungjohann        Tim Sievers
Quad City        Lee Rowe                Roger "Gabby" Crow
Waterloo         Russell Garling         Jeffrey Klein
Wausau           Michael Feder           Charles Booth
Wisconsin Rapids Bob Arterburn           Barry Wallihan
                                         Bill Kinsman

Coaching Staffs

                 Manager          Coaches        Trainer
Appleton         Jim Breazeale                   Dan Kraeger
Burlington       Duane Espy                      Ron Boggs
Cedar Rapids     Wayne Cato                        
Clinton          Dick McLauglin
Quad City        Jim Napier       Gene Oliver    Freddy Forgeur
Waterloo         Cal Emery        Mel Queen      Ron Linfonte
Wausau           Tom Robson                  
Wisconsin Rapids Rich Stelmaszek

Coaches may be missing from this list. Any help would be appreciated.

Ballpark Information

                           Stadium                   Capacity Attendance
Appleton                   Goodland Field            5,000       72,011
Burlington                 Community Field           3,500       55,001
Cedar Rapids               Veterans Memorial Stadium 6,000       73,206
Clinton                    Riverview Stadium         3,500       41,949
Quad City (Davenport, IA)  John O'Donnell Stadium    8,500       89,256
Waterloo                   Municipal Stadium         5,500       70,196
Wausau                     Athletic Park             3,400       43,059
Wisconsin Rapids           Witter Field              3,000       41,239

The Midwest League plays Single-A, professional baseball in America's agricultural and industrial heartland. 16 teams play a 140 game schedule which begins in early April and ends Labor Day weekend.

This website is a private project and has no official relation with or sanction from the Midwest League or Minor League Baseball.
The opinions expressed on this page are mine, and are worth about that.

Copyright © 1996-2010 Joel Dinda
Some Rights Reserved.