| Seasons | 1983 | Teams
1983 Season: | Summary | Roster | Highlights | League | All-Stars |

Midwest League 1983

League and Team Leadership

League Officers

  • President/Treasurer: William K. Walters
  • Northern Division Vice President: Jim Cutler
  • Southern Division Vice President: Ed Larson
  • Central Division Vice President: Paul Larson
  • Honorary Vice President: Jim Doster
  • Secretary: Doris Krucker
  • Office Secretary: Marty Grimshaw
  • Directory of Publicity: Gerry Kissinger


 #   Name                Hometown
 6   Jeffrey Evans       Northfield, VT
 5   J. Bryant Hance     Lubbock, TX
11   Danny Johnson       Sarasota, FL
 9   Shawn Kimball       Augusta, ME
10   Steven Kriz         Hudson, IA
 3   William McCallum    Saugus, MA
 4   Cornelius O'Banion  Frankfort, KY
12   Dennis O'Connor     Holyoke, MA
 8   Paul Robert Terry   Stone Mountain, GA
14   Larry Vanover       Owensboro, KY
15   Dan Wickham         Waterloo, IA
     Kevin Wurgler       Bismarck, ND

This is the originally-assigned umpire staff. Information about pairings and about staffing changes would be welcome.

Major Change

1983 Season
MWL Fan's Guide

Team Leadership

                 President               GM
Appleton         Milt Drier              Bill Smith
Beloit           George Spelius          Dave Tarrolly
Burlington       Ollie Richardson        George Willis
Cedar Rapids     Harold "Pinky" Primrose Don Buchheister
Clinton          Bob Dalrymple           Claude Stokes
Madison          Bob Drew                Ed Janus
Peoria           Lou Eliopulos           Dan Overstreet
Quad City        Carl Jorgesen           Roger "Gabby" Crow
Springfield      Joe McDonald            Lee Landers
Waterloo         Jerry Heber             Marshall Adesman
Wausau           Lyle Weden              Jack Roeder
Wisconsin Rapids John Keehn              John Marks

Coaching Staffs

                 Manager          Coaches
Appleton         John Boles       Bill Atkinson
Beloit           Tim Nordbrook    Don Whiting
Burlington       Orlando Gomez    Greg Jemison
Cedar Rapids     Bruce Kimm       
Clinton          Bill Lachemann   
Madison          Brad Fischer     Frank Trucchio
Peoria           Joe Coleman      Mike Saverino     Eddie Rodriguez
Quad City        Larry Cox        Scott Breeden     Dick Pole
Springfield      Dave Bialas      
Waterloo         Gomer Hodge      Vic Albury
Wausau           R.J. Harrison    Gary Pellant      John Polonic
Wisconsin Rapids Charlie Manuel   

Coaches may be missing from this list. Any help would be appreciated.

Ballpark Information

                           Stadium                   Capacity Attendance
Appleton                   Goodland Field            4,300       68,751
Beloit                     Telfer Park               3,100       91,448
Burlington                 Community Field           3,500       49,828
Cedar Rapids               Veterans Memorial Stadium 6,000      134,328
Clinton                    Riverview Stadium         3,500       98,641
Madison                    Warner Park               3,400      131,646
Peoria                     Meinen Field              5,000       84,765
Quad City (Davenport, IA)  John O'Donnell Stadium    8,500      185,677
Springfield                Lanphier Park             5,000      144,844
Waterloo                   Municipal Stadium         5,500       89,158
Wausau                     Athletic Park             2,500       50,147
Wisconsin Rapids           Witter Field              3,000       51,717

The Midwest League plays Single-A, professional baseball in America's agricultural and industrial heartland. 16 teams play a 140 game schedule which begins in early April and ends Labor Day weekend.

This website is a private project and has no official relation with or sanction from the Midwest League or Minor League Baseball.
The opinions expressed on this page are mine, and are worth about that.

Copyright © 1996-2010 Joel Dinda
Some Rights Reserved.