| Seasons | 1988 | Teams
1988 Season: | Summary | Roster | Highlights | League |

Midwest League 1988

League and Team Leadership

League Officers

  • President/Treasurer: George Spelius
  • Vice President: Ed Larson
  • Vice President: Jim Cutler
  • Honorary Vice President: Jim Doster
  • Secretary: Doris Krucker
  • Office: Nancy Spelius


#  Name             Hometown
10 Ed Cizek         Oklahoma City, OK
12 Steve Dorchinecz Taylorville, IL
 7 Bud Dunklin      Anaheim, CA
14 Mike Everitt     Aztec, NM
15 Brian Gibbons    South Bend, IN
16 Jim Hacker       Seattle, WA
17 Mike Huber       Greenville, IL
 3 Chris Jones      Atlanta, GA
 8 Matt Malone      O'Fallon, MO
 6 Rick Patterson   Schofield, WI
19 Michael Pietro   Phoenix, AZ
11 Vince Rainforth  Lincoln, IL
18 Richard Roder    Maize, KS
 4 Kevin Stoelting  Marshall, IL
 5 Mark Widlowski   Des Moines, IA
 9 Marv Wright      Covington, KY

This is the originally-assigned umpire staff. Information about pairings and about staffing changes would be welcome.

Major Change

1988 Season
MWL Fan's Guide

Team Leadership

                President           GM
Appleton        A.G. Patterson      Larry Dawson
Beloit          Tim Monahan         Dave Tarrolly
Burlington      Paul Mellott        Paul Marshall
Cedar Rapids    Bob Nance           Don Buchheister
Clinton         Bill Gardner        Mark Poling
                                    Gary Riser
Kenosha         Bob Lee             Bob Lee
Madison         Chuck Barnhill      Steve Wagman
Peoria          Pete Vonachen jr    John Butler
                Clar Krusinski
Quad City       Rick Holtzman       Mike Feder
Rockford        William McKee       Thom Shannon
South Bend                          John Baxter
Springfield     August Busch jr     Lee Landers
Waterloo        Dan Yates           Jim Peterson
Wausau          Dale Cochard        Jack Roeder

Coaching Staffs

                Manager          Coaches
Appleton        Brian Poldberg   Andre Rabouin  Allard Baird
Beloit          Gomer Hodge
Burlington      Grady Little
                Rick Albert
Cedar Rapids    Marc Bombard     Gary Denbo
Clinton         Bill Evers       Jeff Morris
Kenosha         Ron Gardenhire   Dwight Bernard
Madison         Jim Nettles      Bert Bradley
Peoria          Jim Tracy        Rick Kranitz
Quad City       Eddie Rodriguez  Mike Couchee   Don Long
Rockford        Alan Bannister   Mike Parrott   Gene Glynn
South Bend      Steve Dillard    Don Cooper     Jim Reinebold  Jeff Carr
Springfield     Mark DeJohn      Chris Maloney
Waterloo        Ken Bolek        Eric Rasmussen Roger Hill
Wausau          Rick Sweet       Dave Schuler

Coaches may be missing from this list. Any help would be appreciated.

Ballpark Information

                           Stadium                   Capacity Attendance
Appleton                   Goodland Field            4,300       85,310
Beloit                     Harry C Pohlman Field     3,100       96,616
Burlington                 Community Field           3,500       88,343
Cedar Rapids               Veterans Memorial Stadium 6,000      166,121
Clinton                    Riverview Stadium         3,600      127,251
Kenosha                    Simmons Field             3,000       64,285
Madison                    Warner Park               4,000       88,343
Peoria                     Meinen Field              5,000      207,294
Quad City (Davenport, IA)  John O'Donnell Stadium    5,000      115,459
Rockford                   Marinelli Field           4,500      158,674
South Bend                 Stanley Coveleski Stadium 5,200      171,444
Springfield                Lanphier Park             5,000      155,416
Waterloo                   Municipal Stadium         5,400       87,819
Wausau                     Athletic Park             3,000       55,255

The Midwest League plays Single-A, professional baseball in America's agricultural and industrial heartland. 16 teams play a 140 game schedule which begins in early April and ends Labor Day weekend.

This website is a private project and has no official relation with or sanction from the Midwest League or Minor League Baseball.
The opinions expressed on this page are mine, and are worth about that.

Copyright © 1996-2010 Joel Dinda
Some Rights Reserved.