| Seasons | 1989 | Teams
1989 Season: | Summary | Roster | Highlights | League |

Midwest League 1989

League and Team Leadership

League Officers

  • President/Treasurer: George Spelius
  • Vice President: Ed Larson
  • Vice President: Jim Cutler
  • Honorary Vice President: Jim Doster
  • Secretary: Doris Krucker
  • Legal Counsel: A.G. Patterson
  • Office: Nancy & Mary Spelius


#  Name             Hometown
 3 Vince Delgado     Orange, CA
14 Mark Erramouspe   Rock Springs, NY (WY?)
 7 Martin Foster     Denver, CO
15 Brian Gibbons     South Bend, IN
16 Jim Hacker        Seattle, WA
17 Mike Huber        Greenville, IL
 5 David Lattimer    Orange, CA
 8 Paul Nauert       Shively, KY
10 Jeff Nelson       Salt Lake City, UT
19 Mike Pietro       Phoenix, AZ
11 Vince Rainforth   Lincoln, IL
18 Rick Roder        Des Moines, IA
   Kevin Stoelting   Marshall, IL
12 Brian Wilbur      Madison, WI
 9 Marvin Wright     Covington, KY
 6 Joe Yonto         South Bend, IN

Initial Pairings:

This is the originally-assigned umpire staff. Information about pairings and about staffing changes would be welcome.

Major Change

1989 Season
MWL Fan's Guide

Team Leadership

                President           GM
Appleton        Milt Drier          Larry Dawson
Beloit          Tim Monahan         Dave Tarrolly
Burlington      Dave Walker         Paul Marshall
Cedar Rapids    Bob Nance           Don Buchheister
Clinton         Bill Gardner        Kevin Temperly
Kenosha         Bob Lee             Bob Lee
Madison         Chuck Barnhill      Don DuChateau
Peoria                              John Butler
Quad City       Rick Holtzman       Mike Feder
Rockford        Bill McKee          Bill Larsen
South Bend                          John Baxter
Springfield     August Busch jr     Lee Landers
Waterloo        Dan Yates           Jim Peterson
Wausau          Dale Cochard        Jack Roeder

Coaching Staffs

                Manager          Coaches
Appleton        Brian Poldberg   Andre Rabouin   Allard Baird
Beloit          Alex Taveras     Gary Robson
Burlington      Jim Saul         Doc Estes
Cedar Rapids    Dave Miley       Gerry Groninger
Clinton         Keith Bodie      Jeff Morris
Kenosha         Steve Liddle     Brian Allard
Madison         Jim Nettles      Bert Bradley
Peoria          Brad Mills       Rick Kranitz
Quad City       Eddie Rodriguez  Don Long        Joe Georger       Orv Franchuck
Rockford        Mike Quade       Mike Parrott
South Bend      Rick Patterson   Kirk Champion   Roger LaFrancois  Jim Reinebold
Springfield     Dan Radison      Rick Colbert
Waterloo        Jaime Moreno     Mark Littell
Wausau          Tommy Jones      John Boyles

Coaches may be missing from this list. Any help would be appreciated.

Ballpark Information

                           Stadium                   Capacity Attendance
Appleton                   Goodland Field            4,300       76,223
Beloit                     Harry C Pohlman Field     3,100       93,166
Burlington                 Community Field           3,500       82,936
Cedar Rapids               Veterans Memorial Stadium 6,000      181,189
Clinton                    Riverview Stadium         3,600       68,487
Kenosha                    Simmons Field             3,000       63,392
Madison                    Warner Park               4,000       84,064
Peoria                     Meinen Field              5,000      225,757
Quad City (Davenport, IA)  John O'Donnell Stadium    5,000      191,825
Rockford                   Marinelli Field           4,500      139,338
South Bend                 Stanley Coveleski Stadium 5,000      203,197
Springfield                Lanphier Park             5,000      164,012
Waterloo                   Municipal Stadium         5,400       93,555
Wausau                     Athletic Park             3,000       49,302

The Midwest League plays Single-A, professional baseball in America's agricultural and industrial heartland. 16 teams play a 140 game schedule which begins in early April and ends Labor Day weekend.

This website is a private project and has no official relation with or sanction from the Midwest League or Minor League Baseball.
The opinions expressed on this page are mine, and are worth about that.

Copyright © 1996-2010 Joel Dinda
Some Rights Reserved.