| Seasons | 1996 | Teams
1996 Season: | Summary | Roster | Highlights | League | All-Stars |

Midwest League 1996

League and Team Leadership

League Officers

  • President/Treasurer: George Spelius
  • Vice President: Ed Larson
  • Secretary/Legal Counsel: Richard Nussbaum II
  • Office: George Spelius, Jr.


 #  Name                   Hometown
 2 Pat Riley               Rohnert Park, CA
 3 Mike VanVleet           Battle Creek, MI
 3 Justin Klemm            Brentwood, NY
 4 Mark Hutchison          Kansas City, MO
 5 Jeff Spedoske           Lansing, MI
 6 John Lomavaya           Tempe, AZ
 7 Mark Winters            Pleasant Plains, IL
 8 Jon Wolfe               Dallas, TX
 9 Pat McGinnis            Joliet, IL
10 Brian McCraw            Port St. Lucie, FL
11 Dennis Schenkenberger   Aurora, CO
12 Tim Clougherty          Raleigh, NC
12 Chris Guccione          Lakewood, CO
14 Scott Griggs            Scottsdale, AZ
15 Bill Haze               Scottsdale, AZ
16 Mark Carlson            Joliet, IL
16 Brian Knight            Helena, MT
   Ramon Armendariz        Oceanside, CA


More information about the umpire crews (any year) would certainly be welcome.

Major Change

1996 Season
MWL Fan's Guide

Team Leadership

                President               GM
Beloit          Dennis Conerton         Jeff Nelson
Burlington      David Walker            Chuck Heeman
Cedar Rapids    Wally Krouse            Jack Roeder
Clinton         Wally Schilling         Leasa Brown
Fort Wayne                              Mike Tatoian
Kane County                             Bill Larsen
Lansing                                 Jim Weigel
Michigan        William Collins, Jr     Tim Cullen
Peoria          Pete Vonachen           Rocky Vonachen
Quad City       Richard Holtzman        Chris Holvoet
Rockford        Mark McGuire            Mike Holmes
South Bend      John Baxter
West Michigan   Dennis Baxter           Scott Lane
Wisconsin       John Wollner            Mike Birling

Coaching Staffs

                Manager         Coaches
Beloit          Luis Salazar    Bill Campbell*  John Mallee
Burlington      Glenn Tufts     Keith Comstock* Juan Lopez
Cedar Rapids    Tom Lawless     Steve Renko*    Charlie Romero
Clinton         Mike Ramsey     Scipio Spinks*
Fort Wayne      Dan Rohn        Stu Cliburn*    Jose Baez
Kane County     Lynn Jones      Brian Peterson* Matt Winters
Lansing         Brian Poldberg  Mike Mason*     Curtis Wilkerson
Michigan        Tommy Barrett   Bill Moloney*   Pookie Bernstine
Peoria          Roy Silver      Ray Searage*
Quad City       Jim Pankovits   Don Alexander   Joe Pittman*
Rockford        Steve Roadcap   Alan Dunn*      John Pierson
South Bend      Dave Keller     Curt Hasler*    Rance Mulliniks
West Michigan   Mike Quade      Bert Bradley*   Gil Lopez
Wisconsin       Mike Goff       Pat Rice*       Joaquin Contreras

*pitching coaches

Coaches may be missing from this list. Any help would be appreciated.

Ballpark Information

                             Stadium                   Capacity Attendance
Beloit                       Harry Pohlman Field        3,501       73,552
Burlington                   Community Field            3,500       52,726
Cedar Rapids                 Veterans Memorial Stadium  6,000      127,379
Clinton                      Riverview Stadium          3,400       57,120
Fort Wayne                   Memorial Stadium           6,000      226,740
Kane County (Geneva, IL)     Philip B Elfstrom Stadium  7,400      436,076
Lansing                      Oldsmobile Park           10,000      538,325
Michigan (Battle Creek)      C.O. Brown Stadium         6,200      161,520
Peoria                       Pete Vonachen Stadium      6,200      187,283
Quad City (Davenport, IA)    John O'Donnell Stadium     5,500      209,513
Rockford                     Marinelli Field            4,300      102,479
South Bend                   Stanley Coveleski Stadium  5,000      214,721
West Michigan (Grand Rapids) Old Kent Park             10,000      547,401
Wisconsin (Appleton)         Fox Cities Stadium         5,600      233,797

The Midwest League plays Single-A, professional baseball in America's agricultural and industrial heartland. 16 teams play a 140 game schedule which begins in early April and ends Labor Day weekend.

This website is a private project and has no official relation with or sanction from the Midwest League or Minor League Baseball.
The opinions expressed on this page are mine, and are worth about that.

Copyright © 1996-2010 Joel Dinda
Some Rights Reserved.