MWLguide.com | Seasons | 1997 | Standings |
1997 Season: | Overview | Best Players | All-Stars | Standings | Batting | Pitching | Team Age |

Midwest League 1997

Weekly Standings

This page traces the Midwest League's 1997 season by showing snapshots of the division leaders.

This was interesting stuff while it was occurring. But I've never been tempted to repeat this effort....


This large and complex page takes a while to load. Please be patient.

Thanks.



[Search]
New
23jun97
Changed
31aug10
Major Change
6sep97


1997 Season
Summary
Highlights
League
MWL Fan's Guide

Second Half


August

  Western Division Central Division Eastern Division
Date Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead
August 31 (Sun) Cedar Rapids 36/33 (.522) 3.5 Kane County 37/31 (.544) 2.0 West Michigan 46/22 (.676) 11.0
August 28 (Thu) Cedar Rapids 35/32 (.522) 3.0 Kane County 36/29 (.554) 3.0 West Michigan 45/21 (.682) 11.0
August 21 (Thu) Cedar Rapids 30/30 (.500) 0.5 Rockford 31/28 (.525) 0.5 West Michigan 41/18 (.695) 9.0
August 14 (Thu) Quad City 28/26 (.519) 1.0 Wisconsin
Rockford
29/25 (.537) --- West Michigan 37/17 (.685) 8.5
August 7 (Thu) Cedar Rapids 26/21 (.553) 2.0 Wisconsin 26/21 (.553) 2.0 West Michigan 31/16 (.660) 5.5

July

  Western Division Central Division Eastern Division
Date Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead
July 31 (Thu) Cedar Rapids 22/19 (.537) 0.5 Wisconsin 23/18 (.561) 3.0 West Michigan 30/11 (.732) 7.5
July 24 (Thu) Cedar Rapids 20/14 (.588) 2.0 Peoria
Wisconsin
19/15 (.559) --- West Michigan 24/10 (.706) 4.5
July 18 (Fri) Cedar Rapids 17/12 (.586) 0.5 Peoria 16/13 (.552) 1.0 West Michigan 20/9 (.690) 4.5
July 10 (Thu) Quad City 13/8 (.619) 2.0 Kane County 12/8 (.600) 1.5 West Michigan 14/7 (.667) 1.0
July 3 (Thu) Quad City 7/8 (.467) 1.0 Wisconsin 9/6 (.600) 0.5 West Michigan
South Bend
10/5 (.667) ---

June

  Western Division Central Division Eastern Division
Date Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead
June 26 (Thu) Quad City 4/4 (.500) 1.0 Wisconsin
Rockford
Peoria
5/3 (.625) --- West Michigan
South Bend
Michigan
5/3 (.725) ---

First Half


June

  Western Division Central Division Eastern Division
Date Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead
June 15 (Sun/Final) Burlington 39/31 (.557) 4.5 Wisconsin 40/29 (.580) 5.5 West Michigan 46/17(.730) 11.0
June 12 (Thu) Burlington 36/29 (.576) 2.5 Wisconsin 38/28 (.576) 4.0 West Michigan 43/17(.717) 10.0
June 5 (Thu) Burlington 34/26 (.567) 1.5 Wisconsin 34/25 (.576) 4.0 West Michigan 40/13(.755) 12.0

May

  Western Division Central Division Eastern Division
Date Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead
May 29 (Thu) Clinton 27/20 (.574) 1.5 Wisconsin 31/21 (.596) 3.5 West Michigan 34/12(.739) 8.5
May 22 (Thu) Clinton 24/18 (.571) 2.0 Wisconsin 24/20 (.545) 0.5 West Michigan 29/10(.744) 7.0
May 15 (Thu) Clinton 23/13 (.639) 6.5 Wisconsin 22/15 (.595) 2.0 West Michigan 25/8 (.758) 5.5
May 8 (Thu) Clinton 18/11 (.621) 3.5 Peoria 18/12 (.600) 1.0 West Michigan 20/6 (.769) 5.0
May 1 (Thu) Clinton 14/9 (.609) 3.0 Wisconsin 17/9 (.654) 1.0 West Michigan 16/4 (.800) 5.0

April

  Western Division Central Division Eastern Division
Date Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead Leader Won/Lost (%) Lead
April 24 (Thu) Clinton 12/5 (.706) 5.0 Wisconsin 15/5 (.750) 3.0 West Michigan 11/3 (.786) 3.0
April 19 (Sat) Clinton 9/3 (.750) 4.0 Wisconsin 11/4 (.733) 3.0 West Michigan 8/2 (.800) 2.0
April 10 (Thu) Burlington 4/3 (.571) 0.5 Wisconsin
Peoria
4/2 (.667) --- West Michigan
Fort Wayne
3/1 (.750)
4/2 (.667)
---


Season Details
Overview
Best Players
All-Stars
Standings
Batting
Pitching
Team Age


The Midwest League plays Single-A, professional baseball in America's agricultural and industrial heartland. 16 teams play a 140 game schedule which begins in early April and ends Labor Day weekend.

Disclaimers:
This website is a private project and has no official relation with or sanction from the Midwest League or Minor League Baseball.
The opinions expressed on this page are mine, and are worth about that.


Copyright © 1996-2010 Joel Dinda
Some Rights Reserved.