| History | Reference |
Reference: | Records | Champions | Awards | All-Stars | Hitting | Pitching | No Hitters | 20 Wins | Attendance | Reviews | Tidbits | Sources |

Midwest League Reference Pages

Twenty Game Winners

Floyd Melliere was our league's first twenty-game winner; he managed a 21-4 record for the West Frankfort team in 1948, leading the Cardinals to the Illinois State League championship and (of course) leading the league in wins. The ISL was a predecessor of the MWL and our league claims those records.

Twenty-win seasons were fairly common in the '50s; four pitchers had 22-win seasons in that span. 1950 and 1956 had 3 twenty-game winners; only 1953 had none.

1961 had two 20-game winners. Then they stopped.

Major Change

MWL Fan's Guide

31 years later, John Fritz went 20-4 for the 1992 Quad City River Bandits. The Bandits lead the league in wins, but lost the championship playoff to Cedar Rapids.

This is a terrible predictor of big-league success, by the way. Juan Marichal we all know about. Joe Schaffernoth pitched three big-league summers. I think Dave Hill had 2 IP with the Kansas City A's. That's it.

Fritz made it to AAA at Vancouver and New Orleans, but was out of organized ball after 1995.

19 pitchers have managed 20-win ISL/MOV/MWL seasons. Here's the list:

1948  Floyd Melliere    West Frankfort   21-4
1950  Gene Pisarski     Centralia        22-3
      Barry Dosser      Paducah          20-7
      David Hill        Mattoon          20-10
1951  Lee Tunison       Centralia        20-8
1952  Kenneth Gohn      Danville         22-5
      Neil Maxa         Paris            21-6
1954  John Bumgarner    Decatur          22-8
      David Jimenez     Clinton          20-6
1955  Allen Evens       Kokomo           21-10
1956  Arturo Miro       Clinton          22-5
      Charles Smith     Lafayette        21-4
      Joe Schaffernoth  Paris            21-6
1957  Emerson Unzicker  Kokomo           20-11
1958  Juan Marichal     Michigan City    21-8
1959  Joel McDaniel     Decatur          22-9
1961  David Busby       Waterloo         21-7
      Thomas Newton     Quad City        20-7
1992  John Fritz        Quad City        20-4

This page originated as the March 6, 1999, Midwest League Tidbit on the Midwest League Mailing List.

No Hitters
20 Wins

The Midwest League plays Single-A, professional baseball in America's agricultural and industrial heartland. 16 teams play a 140 game schedule which begins in early April and ends Labor Day weekend.

This website is a private project and has no official relation with or sanction from the Midwest League or Minor League Baseball.
The opinions expressed on this page are mine, and are worth about that.

Copyright © 1996-2010 Joel Dinda
Some Rights Reserved.