| Seasons | 1980 | Teams
1980 Season: | Summary | Roster | Highlights | League | All-Stars |

Midwest League 1980

League and Team Leadership

League Officers

  • President/Treasurer: William K. Walters
  • Northern Division Vice President: Bob Arterburn
  • Southern Division Vice President: Ed Larson
  • Honorary Vice President: Jim Doster
  • Secretary: Doris Krucker
  • Directory of Publicity: Spencer Dickinson


 #   Name                Hometown
     Roy Bornholt        Ontario, Canada
     Randy Bruns         Waverly, Iowa
     Gary Cederstrom     Minot, North Dakota
     Phil Jannsen        Little Chute, Wisconsin
     Ray Kluever         Stoughton, Wisconsin
     Terry Mann          Chester, Pennsylvania
     Larry Reveal        Indianapolis, Indiana
     Gary Robinson       Charlotte, North Carolina

Major Change

1980 Season
MWL Fan's Guide

Team Leadership

                 President               GM
Appleton         Bill Sands              Ollie Burrows
                                         Sue Iverson
Burlington       Dick O'Daniels          Rick Bach
Cedar Rapids     Harold "Pinky" Primrose Don Buchheister
Clinton          Paul Larson             Tim Sievers
Quad City        Dave Cross              Roger "Gabby" Crow
Waterloo         Dick Kern               Rich Blumeyer
Wausau           Lyle Weden              Roger Gifford
Wisconsin Rapids Terry Stake             Bill Kinsman

Coaching Staffs

                 Manager          Coaches        Trainer
Appleton         Gordy Lund                      Ron Wollenhaupt
Burlington       Duane Espy                      Brian Thorson
Cedar Rapids     Jim Lett                        Mike Messaros
Clinton          Wayne Cato
Quad City        Jim Napier       Gene Oliver    Davey Nesmoe
Waterloo         Cal Emery        Chuck Stobbs   Bob Gariglio
Wausau           Marty Martinez                  Joe Nemeth
Wisconsin Rapids Rich Stelmaszek

Coaches may be missing from this list. Any help would be appreciated.

Ballpark Information

                           Stadium                   Capacity Attendance
Appleton                   Goodland Field            4,300       74,207
Burlington                 Community Field           3,500       51,486
Cedar Rapids               Veterans Memorial Stadium 6,000       84,062
Clinton                    Riverview Stadium         3,600       58,723
Quad City (Davenport, IA)  John O'Donnell Stadium    8,500      103,445
Waterloo                   Municipal Stadium         5,400       72,606
Wausau                     Athletic Park             3,000       37,175
Wisconsin Rapids           Witter Field              3,000       47,899

The Midwest League plays Single-A, professional baseball in America's agricultural and industrial heartland. 16 teams play a 140 game schedule which begins in early April and ends Labor Day weekend.

This website is a private project and has no official relation with or sanction from the Midwest League or Minor League Baseball.
The opinions expressed on this page are mine, and are worth about that.

Copyright © 1996-2010 Joel Dinda
Some Rights Reserved.